Tags

, , , , , ,

This post was originally written in May 2014, but never published. Here it is.

I have been watching HIMYM for years now. I was first introduced to the show by a friend, though I initially brushed it off as another Friends wannabe. It wasn’t until I caught some re-runs on TV in 2009 (first episode I remember watching – “No Tomorrow”) that I started following the show closely. Over the years, I’ve gotten used to the antics of all the characters, and I can say that the Ted/Robin storyline is a bust. The whole build-up to meeting the Mother was too long to be swept under the rug in a simple 5 minute musical montage.

On the other hand, I think the real masterstroke in this finale is that they spent a whole season talking about the Barney/Robin wedding (the relationship between those two was always a stretch), only to have them divorce in the second half of the finale. Those two were never meant to be tied down, and sad though it may have been, Robin should have remained single. In trying to have closure for the Ted and Robin, the creators of the show neglected that life is full of regrets. That would have been a fitting, if imperfect, ending, for what is, in many ways, a coming-of-age-show.

