Tags

, , , , , ,

I recently purchased two used Hasselblad EL/M Bodies from RFF.  The cameras were in fair condition and they came ready to use (a 9V battery adapter was included).  They also came with two 70mm film backs that I have been thinking of buying.  And best of all, they cost only as much as I’d have paid for just a single body.  While this is by no means a review, I can say that the EL/M addresses one of my main issues with Hasselblads, namely that the mirror remains flipped-up after exposure.  Although the Hasselblad is an incredibly well-engineered machine, in this respect it pales in comparison to the otherwise lesser Bronica S2A.  It is lighter than the Bronica, but bulkier, and still no slouch in the weight department.

One interesting thing about this camera is that it uses a electronic shutter release that works by shorting two pins in a socket. The cameras come with a standard shutter release button that has two parts – an outer sleeve and an inner rod, which are shorted.  The button sits in the socket with the sleeve in contact with the first pin.  Depressing the button moves the inner rod into contact with the other pin, thus firing the shutter.

I have an old wireless Opteka trigger for my Canon Rebel XS (my first camera!) that hasn’t seen much use of late.  The trigger has a 2.5mm audio connector that has two pins that short when triggered.  It is a simple matter to connect the pins on the connector to the camera body.  Without the proper Hasselblad connector however, I had to improvise a little.  Fortuitously, the EL/M has two of these sockets on each body, allowing me to hack together a connector using two Ikea allen wrenches.  A video showing the trigger in action is at the end of this post.

