Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I did some reversal processing using a new film today, namely 16mm Reversal Tri-X (Kodak 7266).  The film was loaded into a cartridge and tested with the Minolta 16 MG-S subminiature camera.  This is primarily a test to determine the processing conditions for my Keystone A-12 Cine camera, which I am using to film my baby’s development.  Another difference this time round was that the first developer contained 2g/L sodium thiocyanate.  This is meant to remove the extra silver halide, in hopes of resolving the muddy highlights as discussed here.  The results are shown below.  The first thing to note is that the small black dots all over the film is due to crumbling sealing material on the MG-S.  I think.  I sure hope they are not pieces of floating emulsion!  Overall, the results this time round was much better.  Because the film was loaded on a reel, it did not suffer from uneven development.  However, as the film sat in the developer, the highlights became increasingly muddy, suggesting, once again, that the halide solvent action needs to be further boosted.

