Tags

, , , ,

It is easy to admire beautiful things, and I have often found myself enraptured by works of other artists, writers, and designers. In particular, I consider the development of a distinct style, be it aesthetically pleasing (in the conventional sense) or not, to be of utmost importance to my liking a particular body of work.

In a similar vein, I find myself admiring some of my own work. I am a photographer of sorts, but I seldom find my own pictures to be too exciting, in and of themselves. What I really like, are the collections of material that I have created. For example, I look at the stack of negatives that I have developed, or the Polaroid images that I have accumulated over the years, and I feel pretty good inside. An even less obvious source of aesthetic pride are the notes that I take for work and at church.  In the former, since I work in a research lab, the ability to make a decent record of the work done is critical for future references.

In the latter, I have been making notes for sermons for some 4 years now, always in my Moleskine notebooks (on my third book now).  I really love flipping through the pages, and from my own experience this aesthetic appeal certainly helps me keep up the practice (bordering perhaps on compulsiveness).  I have tried to keep notes before, but because the notebooks were run-of-the-mill college-ruled notebooks, I never managed to make notes for more than a couple of weeks.  Now, my penmanship is terrible, but even seeing the consistently-bad handwriting forms a sort of style that is appealing to me.

Strange, but true.

