Watched the movie a couple of days back. I quite liked it, though my wife was a little less enthusiastic. Loved how the show portrayed the cultural differences between the Japanese and, I suppose, the rest of the world. Also, Charlotte’s husband is a celebrity photographer, and I thought I saw him carrying a Leica in the first scene, and then a bunch of Pentax 67s were packed in his luggage when he was going away. Interesting.

And a particular quote caught my ear, especially since I recently added a bunch of (I presume) teenage girls to my contacts in my flickr account. Very interesting pictures, and I was actually rather impressed, yet surprised that many of them have pretty similar styles (beautiful pictures, with lots of words describing states of mind. Very contemplative). Anyway here’s the quote from Charlotte:

“I tried taking pictures, but they were so mediocre. I guess every girl goes through a photography phase. You know, horses… taking pictures of your feet.”

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0335266/quotes?qt=qt0300004

The show’s definitely worth watching, if you haven’t already. 🙂

P.S. May have accidentally infringed on the photo copyright here.  I have removed one of the images.  Let’s hope this other one is not copyrighted.

