So, I just received my Eye-Fi card a couple of days ago from a fellow forummer on FM, and it was in really great condition.  About 30% off retail, and arrived in 3 days.  I’ve had the opportunity to use it for a few days, so here are some thoughts:

1. This thing is a battery guzzler!
– I typically charge my batteries once a week or so.  Using the card to deliver the pictures to the computer required recharging in one day.  *Gasp* It also requires the camera to be on during the transfer, which can be annoying if you have power-saving mode enabled (lots of interrupted transfers).

2. It is a bother to have to register it online
– The previous owner did not de-register in time, so I had to wait 3 hours before I could use the card.  Once it was registered, though, it was a breeze.  Don’t really care for the upload function to the Eye-Fi server, since it is pretty slow, does not render RAW files, and is not directly linked to sharing websites.

3. Sharing can be automated
– But no one really wants to run the risk of unintentional sharing, so this is turned off.

So, how I set this card up is basically enable selected uploading, so that only protected images get uploaded.  I also peg the endless memory level at 50% to prevent over-zealous file deletion.  At 8GB capacity, and shooting mostly JPG on my Olympus E-P2, this level of usage will probably take a while to reach.  I read somewhere that a photographer set this thing up such that it will auto-import into Lightroom during a studio shooting session.  I think this is not a very viable option because of the battery consumption (faster than I can charge my spare battery, I think) and also the slow transfer, which negates the advantage of instant review.  If you ask me, I’d say don’t throw out that long USB cable just yet if you intend to use it in a studio.

All in all, an extremely innovative product that unfortunately does not live up to my expectation.  It will stay in the stable for now, but faces an uncertain future.  Given how much I hate taking out the SD card to stick into the reader (or hooking up my camera to the computer) this does provide some respite.

